Spelt & Yoghurt Bread

Professional looking bread is my mission! And today’s Spelt and Yoghurt Bread is definitely, in my view, an improvement on previous efforts.

Spelt and Yoghurt Bread

Spelt and Yoghurt Bread

Spelt and Yoghurt Bread

Spelt and Yoghurt Bread

 

Recipe:

750g flour, composed of 500g spelt, 150g strong white, and 100g very strong brown
c.16fl ozs liquid, composed of c.40% yoghurt, 60% water
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp oil
1 tsp salt
17g dry yeast, activated with 5fl ozs of the water and an additional tsp of sugar

I mixed and folded for about half a minute, then left it for c.30 minutes, when I stretched and folded til it felt really good – perhaps half a minute again. I then left the dough to rise while a went to Pilates and did the shopping. I stretched and folded again and left the dough to rise in a floured cloth placed inside a colander. When it had about doubled I turned it out on to a flat tin and cut the top. I baked at 190C for 10 minutes and then reduced to 170C for 35 minutes. It has a dense texture, slightly moist, and smells and tastes fabulous with the fresh grapefruit marmalade!

grapefruit marmalade

Leave a Reply

