Cratfield Cakes

It is a Concert at Cratfield today and that means baking cakes!

Felicity Cloake writes a series of ‘The Best…’ for the Guardian and I tried her recipe for Coffee Cake. Stupidly I forgot to try her icing recipe and so struggled slightly with Geraldine Holt’s version of Coffee Icing and another recipe I found in Liz Herbert’s Cakes – Women’s Institute.

Coffee Cakes 

And the Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake, tried and tested from Cakes – Women’s Institute. I use 150% of the recipe, fold in whipped egg whites, and bake for an hour in a long tin lined with foil so that I can take it out easily.

Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake

And finally I tried a Madeira Cake recipe, also from Cakes – Women’s Institute. I added a lemon-flavoured glaze (Delia Smith), and sprinkled with lavender!

Madeira Cake

Leave a Reply

